Mitglied werden

DGMK-Veranstaltung / Petrochemie

The Future of Chemicals and Fuels – Feedstocks and Process Technologies

08.50 - 18.00
Online Conference

The Conference is jointly organised by the Petrochemistry Division of DGMK, the Division of Industrial Chemistry of the Società Chimica Italiana (SCI), the Austrian ÖGEW Österreichische Gesellschaft für Erdölwissenschaften and Leibniz-Institut für Katalyse e.V. (LIKAT), Rostock.

Due to the widespread consequences of COVID-19, including health and safety concerns and travel restrictions, the scientific chairmen have agreed to hold the conference as a one-day online conference on 8th October 2020.

Scientific Committee

The scientific chairmen are Dr. Michael Bender (BASF SE, Ludwigshafen), Dr. Holger Blanke (BP Europa SE, Bochum), Dr. Harald Häger (Evonik Performance Materials GmbH, Marl), Dr. Axel Goehrt (INEOS Köln GmbH, Köln), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Jess (University of Bayreuth), Prof. Dr. Johannes A. Lercher (Technical University of Munich), Dr. Mario Marchionna (Saipem S.p.A., San Donato Milanese, Italy), Prof. Dr. Jörg Sauer (KIT Karlsruher Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe) and Prof. Dr. Dieter Vogt (TU Dortmund University).


Opening and Welcome Address

Dieter Vogt

Session 1

Chairman: Dieter Vogt

Biomass Base Platform Chemical - Promising Value Chains and Major Challenges

R. Palkovits, Institute of Technical und Macromolecular Chemistry, RWTH Aachen, Germany

The Opportunity of Biobased Materials

M. Lambalk, Avantium N.V., Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Improved Catalytic Transfer Hydrogenation of Levulinate Esters with Alcohols Over ZrO2 Catalyst

T. Tabanelli1, E. Paone2, P. Blair Vásquez1, R. Pietropaolo2, N. Dimitratos1, F. Cavani1, F. Mauriello2, 1Dipartimento di Chimica Industriale “Toso Montanari”, Università di Bologna, Italy, 2Dipartimento DICEAM, Università Mediterranea di Reggio Calabria, Italy


Session 2

Chairman: Jörg Sauer

Coupled Production of Steel and Chemicals

M. Bender, BASF SE, Ludwigshafen, Germany

Methanol Synthesis with Real Steel-Mill-Gases: Practical Performance Investigations in an On-Site Technical Center

K. Girod1, S. Schlüter1, T. Hennig1, H. Lohmann1, S. Kaluza1,2, 1Fraunhofer UMSICHT, Oberhausen, Germany, 2Faculty of Mechanical and Process Engineering, University of Applied Sciences Düsseldorf, Germany

A New Reactor Concept for Conversion of CO2 to Methanol

T. Oelmann1, M. Gorny1, T. Schuhmann1, M. Strozyk1, F. Castillo-Welter2, C. Drosdzol2, S. Haag2, 1Air Liquide Engineering & Construction, Frankfurt am Main, Germany, 2Air Liquide Innovation Campus Frankfurt, Frankfurt am Main, Germany


Lunch Break

Session 3

Chairman: Harald Häger

The Rheticus Project

T. Haas1, G. Schmid2, 1Evonik Operations GmbH, Marl, Germany, 2Siemens AG, Munich, Germany

Direct Air Carbon Capture and Storage (DACCS) and Direct Air Carbon Capture and Utilization (DACCU)

G. Santori, Institute for Materials and Processes, University of Edinburgh, Scotland, UK


Session 4

Chairman: Michael Bender

Energy Efficient Separation of Olefins and Paraffins through a Membrane

W. Charlton, Compact Membrane Systems Inc., Newport, USA

Energy Efficient Utilisation of C4 Olefins

H. Häger, Evonik Performance Materials GmbH, Marl, Germany

Palladium Catalyzed Carbonylation of Challenging Olefins to Esters and Acids

H. Neumann, J. Yang, K. Dong, R. Sang, R. Jackstell, M. Beller, Leibniz-Institut für Katalyse


Concluding Remarks and Conference Summary

Dieter Vogt

Please note that this programme is subject to change without notice

Overview of Digital Poster

Spatially-resolved Gas-phase Measurements on Iron-based Fischer-Tropsch Synthesis in a fixed-bed Reactor

F. Wolke1, Y. Hu1, M. Voigt1, E. Reichelt1, O. Korup2, M. Jahn1, R. Horn2, 1Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems (IKTS), Dresden, Germany, 2Technische Universität Hamburg (TUHH), Germany

Perspectives for the Intensification of Methane Steam Reforming

R. Balzarotti, M. Ambrosetti, D. Marangoni, G. Groppi, E. Tronconi, Laboratory of Catalysis and Catalytic Processes, Dipartimento di Energia, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Direct Hydrogenation of CO2 to Olefin-rich Hydrocarbons: A Sustainable Process for Basic Chemicals and Fuels

L. Brübach, P. Pfeifer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Institute for Micro Process Engineering (IMVT), Germany

Oxymethylene Ethers (OMEs) as Diesel Fuels: State of the Art and Perspectives

M. Drexler, U. Arnold, P. Haltenort, J. Sauer, Institute of Catalysis Research and Technology (IKFT), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany

Fischer-Tropsch Synthesis of Higher Alcohols Using Supported Iron-based Catalysts

M. Medicus, M. Merkel, P. Otto, F. Wolke, E. Reichelt, M. Jahn, Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems IKTS, Dresden, Germany

Chemical Upgrading of Bio-Waste Based on a Thermo-Catalytic Pyrolysis and Reforming Process

F. Schmutzler1, J. Neidel2, D. Römpler3, J. Titus1, D. Poppitz1, V. Palchyk2, A. Hornung2, R. Gläser1, 1Universität Leipzig, Institute of Chemical Technology, Leipzig, Germany, 2Fraunhofer UMSICHT, Sulzbach-Rosenberg,Germany, 3Fraunhofer IVV, Freising, Germany

Registration for Individuals

Registration is available until 5th October 2020.

Only registered attendees will receive dial-in instructions which will be sent on Tuesday, 8th October. Please note that the number of participants is limited.

The registration is free of charge.


Dr. Dominik Soyk

Leiter der Abteilung Petrochemie

Ines Musekamp

Koordination Petrochemie